Gardening in Portugal – The adventure begins!

Portugalhouse

I am about to embark on a lifelong ambition, to make a garden from scratch. For some reason fate deemed   I should have both time and a reasonable plot of land to turn into a beautiful garden. In short,  I’ve been given what I’ve  asked for all my life with the added bonus of time.  I hope I am granted the health and strength to complete this joyful  task to its completion. The extra  challenge is, that life has unexpectedly given me the opportunity to build this garden in the hills of the Algarve, giving it a delightful and interesting dimension.  My previous life, in Camberwell, South London, afforded me a very small terraced garden and an allotment. I enjoyed the sense of community that the allotment gave me and miss my gardening friends there greatly. But I am hoping that the readers of this blog, if indeed there be readers, will be my gardening companions along the way, virtual companions over the garden fence, if you like.

Jardinagem em Portugal – A aventura começa!

Estou prestes a embarcar numa ambição ha muito desejado, para fazer um jardim a partir do zero. Por algum razão o destino me concedu tempo livre e um lote razoável de terra para se transformar num  belo jardim. Em suma, eu tenho recebido que eu pedi toda a minha vida com a vantagem adicional de tempo disponivel. Espero que me é concedido saúde e força para completar esta tarefa com alegria até a sua conclusão. O desafio inesperado que a vida me tem dado a oportunidade de construir este jardim nas colinas do Algarve, dando-lhe uma dimensão agradável e interessante. Minha vida anterior, em Camberwell, sul de Londres, tinha um pequeno jardim com terraço e um loteamento. Eu gostei muito do comunidade que o loteamento me deu e  sinto muito a falta dod meus amigos de jardinagem daquela altura.. Mas eu estou com esparança que os leitores deste blog, se de fato houver leitores, serão meus companheiros de jardinagem ao longo do caminho, companheiros virtuais cado lado do sebo do jardim, para assim dizer!

I am not an experienced gardener, but neither am I a beginner.  I was brought up in the Wye Valley, in South Wales, a most beautiful part of the world. Now I find myself on the side of a hill once more.  I always took a great interest in “God’s Garden” the wonderful range  the flora and fauna around me. My mother encouraged  me, teaching me the names of many of the wild flowers around.  I  went to London as a young woman and spent the next thirty years tending my children, my marriage and my career, trying to garden wherever I could in between the melee of  roller skates and bicycles. Eventually, I got an allotment and  it gave me great joy as I  learned to grow vegetables and herbs and how to grow more organically and intuitively.

Eu não sou um jardineira experiente, mas tambem não sou um novato. Fui criado no Vale do Wye, em Gales do Sul, a parte mais bonita do mundo. Agora eu encontro-me numa ladeira da colina mais uma vez. Eu sempre teve um grande interesse no “Jardim de Deus” a maravilhosa variedade da flora e fauna em meu redor. Minha mãe me incentivou, ensinando-me os nomes de muitas das flores selvagens a minha volta. Fui para Londres  ainda mulher jovem e passou os próximos trinta anos cuidando dos meus filhos, meu casamento e a minha carreira, tentando jardinar onde pidia, entre os montes de patins e bicicletas.Eventualmente, recebi um loteamento (horta)  que me deu  grande alegria aprendendo a cultivar legumes e ervas que cultivam mais organicamente (bio) e intuitivamente.

My husband and I have been coming and going to the Algarve for over 20 years, encouraged by a beloved friend, a true plantswoman, who bought a house here and loved her garden. She has gone to the great garden in the sky now , but I am sure she will be here with me in spirit as I try and follow in her footsteps and get to know all the mediterranean plants she loved. There will be many challenges along the way, not least the poor soil and lack of water.  But as I look around me at the beautiful hills and how breathtaking the plants are , without any water other than sparse rainfall, I know that nature will teach me a lot. As will my Portugese neighbours, especially as I  master the language which I am struggling to learn!

Meu marido e eu temos andando num via-vem até o Algarve há mais de 20 anos, e fui incentivado por uma amiga querida, um verdadeira mulher das plantas, quem comprou aqui uma casa e adorava o seu jardim. Ela já esta para o grande jardim do céu, mas eu tenho certeza que ela vai estar aqui comigo em espírito quando tento  seguir os seus passos para conhecer todas as plantas mediterrânicas de que ela amava tanto. Haverá muitos desafios ao longo deste caminho, não menos  importante, o solo pobre e falta de água. Mas olhando a minha  volta para as belas colinas e as plantas deslumbrantes, sem pingo de água a não ser da precipitação é essa cassa, eu sei que a natureza me vai ensinar muito. Assim, como é que os meus vizinhos  portugueses, especialmente quando eu domino a língua que eu estou lutando para aprender!

So come with me on the journey! Hopefully we can learn from each other…one of the true delights of gardening and a common understanding between people.

Então venha comigo nesta viagem! Espero que possamos aprender uns com os outros … um dos verdadeiros prazeres da jardinagem, e o entendimento comum entre as pessoas.

2 thoughts on “Gardening in Portugal – The adventure begins!

  1. Welcome to garden blogging – I have discovered a very friendly group of people as I have progressed on my blogging journey and I am sure you will too

    Like

Please talk to me. I am struggling here!

